Quick Links: Cool Tools | Blogs, Conferences & Research | Twitter People to Follow | Resources for Parents & Kids

 

Cool tools, apps & extensions for privacy

  • Tor is an “anonymous” web browser…it’s had its share of problems (e.g., the government having CMU attack it) but is more anonymous than most. Quick overview on how Tor works:YouTube.
  • Password Managers to keep track of all your passwords, generate random passwords. Keepass, Lastpass, 1Password are the most popular. You might also check out
  • Encrypted IM: Adium is best for this (you have to enable OTR; here’s how to do it).
  • Encrypted text messaging: Signal is best, Apple’s Messages is also an easy option when communicating with other iMessage users.
  • Encrypted Email: ProtonMail is the best you’ll get, but end-to-end encryption is only guaranteed for emails between Proton accounts.
  • Encrypted calls and text messages. Signal from Whisper Systems has an amazing and easy-to-use app for iOS and Android. Note that Signal isn’t anonymous because you have to link your phone number to it.
  • Disk Encryption options: Veracrypt for Windows, Filevault for Mac.
  • Terms of Service; Didn’t Read (TOS; DR) extension: For Firefox and Chrome. “Terms of service are often too long to read, but it’s important to understand what’s in them. Your rights online depend on them. We hope that our ratings can help you get informed about your rights.”
  • From the Electronic Freedom Foundation (EFF): HTTPS Everywhere extension and Privacy Badger, which blocks ads/trackers.
  • Privacy Fix extension to manage your social media privacy settings in a single space.
  • Adblocker (Ad Block Plus) prevents some web tracking and blocks many ads from popping up as you surf the Web. Note: There are a lot of critics of Ad Block Plus because the company allows groups to pay to bypass the block.
  • Click&Clean is a Chrome extension and Firefox add-on that deletes your URLs, cache, cookies, and download/browsing history with one button.
  • Eraser is a Windows-based security tool that “allows you to completely remove sensitive data from your hard drive by overwriting it several times with carefully selected pattern.”
  • Ghostery is a Chrome extension and mobile app designed to give companies and consumers businesses more control over how they’re tracked on the Web.

 

Blogs, Conferences & Research

People to follow on Twitter 

Or check out this privacy & security people Twitter list.

  • Christopher Soghoian | @csoghoian
  • ashkan soltani | @ashk4n
  • EFF | @EFF
  • Future of Privacy Forum | @futureofprivacy
  • PrivacyMemes | @PrivacyMemes
  • PRC | @PrivacyToday
  • Joseph Lorenzo Hall | @JoeBeOne
  • Glenn Greenwald | @ggreenwald
  • Kate Crawford | @katecrawford
  • Michael Zimmer | @michaelzimmer
  • Evan Selinger | @EvanSelinger  
  • Woodrow Hartzog | @hartzog  
  • Kim Zetter | @KimZetter
  • Kashmir Hill ‏| @kashhill
  • Matthew Garrett | @mjg59
  • CSMPasscode | @csmpasscode
  • Jon Adams | @netik
  • Michael Kaiser | @mkaiserNCSA
  • Simply Secure | @simplysecure
  • World Privacy Forum | @privacyforum
  • Daniel J. Solove | @DanielSolove
  • Privacy + Security Academy | @privsecacademy
  • Matthew Green | @matthew_d_green

Resources for Parents & Kids

Recent news articles on privacy management for adolescents: